McGurrin, Teres Earn First-Team Honors in Singles and Doubles; Morra Named Second-Team While Hetsko Chosen As Coach of the Year

Senior Tim McGurrin (Clarks Summit, Pa./Scranton Preparatory) and junior David Teres (Lebanon, N.J./North Hunterdon) of The University of Scranton men’s tennis team both earned all-Landmark Conference first-team honors in singles and doubles, according to a release from the conference office on Tuesday morning. Head coach Keith Hetsko was also named Coach of the Year after leading the Royals to a first-place finish in the regular season.

Senior Joe Morra (Bronx, N.Y./Fordham Preparatory) also earned second-team all-conference honors in singles play for the Royals, who finished the season 8-5 and advanced to the Landmark Conference championship for the fourth straight season before falling to Drew University, 5-4, on Saturday, April 27.

McGurrin went 8-4 in singles play this season at the No. 1 spot in the lineup, including 6-1 in regular season conference play. He also won his singles match in the Landmark Conference championship against Drew to finish his career with 38 singles victories. He has earned first-team honors in singles and doubles each of the past three seasons.

Teres was even better while playing at No. 2, going 9-3 in singles play and a perfect 7-0 in regular season conference play. In his three seasons, Teres has 26 career singles victories despite missing the spring of his sophomore year while studying abroad. He was named first team in singles and doubles as well as Rookie of the Year in 2011.

The duo of McGurrin and Teres teamed to go 8-5 in doubles play, including 8-4 at the No. 1 spot. They were 5-2 in regular season conference doubles action.

Morra had a standout year for the Royals at No. 3 singles, going 10-3 overall, including a perfect 7-0 in regular season conference play. He also won his singles match in the Landmark Conference championship and finishes his career with 49 singles victories.

Hetsko led Scranton to a 6-1 finish in regular season conference play, including a 5-4 victory over Drew on Thursday, April 18, at Royal Courts, a win that snapped Drew’s 13-year, 110-match conference winning streak. In his seven seasons as head coach of the Royals, Hetsko has a career mark of 65-40.

Landmark Conference Men’s Tennis Awards
Player of the Year: Raul Smego, Drew, Sr.
Rookie of the Year: Seth Hoesman, Goucher, Fr.
Coach of the Year: Keith Hetsko, Scranton

For the complete all-Landmark Conference men’s tennis team, visit


View: Mobile | Desktop