McGurrin Lands Prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Tim McGurrin is now the 16th student-athlete in University of Scranton history to earn a prestigious NCAA postgraduate scholarship.
Tim McGurrin is now the 16th student-athlete in University of Scranton history to earn a prestigious NCAA postgraduate scholarship.
Tim McGurrin

Hard work does pay off—just ask University of Scranton men’s tennis player Tim McGurrin (Clarks Summit, Pa./Scranton Preparatory).

McGurrin has recently learned that he has been awarded a $7,500.00 postgraduate scholarship by the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA), becoming one of 58 spring sport student-athletes—29 men and 29 women—representing all three divisions nationwide to be honored.   Of the 29 men selected, McGurrin is one of six from a Division III institution.

He is now The University of Scranton’s 16th NCAA postgraduate scholarship recipient.

According to the NCAA’s website, the postgraduate scholarship program “was created in 1964 to promote and encourage postgraduate education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes through their participation in NCAA championship and/or emerging sports. Athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership, are evaluated.  Overall, the NCAA awarded 174 postgraduate scholarships during the 2012-2013 academic year.

McGurrin, who will enroll this fall at Temple University Law School in Philadelphia, is a prime example of the program’s objective.  He graduated in three years with a degree in accounting with a perfect 4.0 grade point average, before pursuing his Master of Business Administration (MBA) degree while completing his athletic eligibility this past spring.

Along the way, McGurrin picked up a number of honors.  He was twice named Academic all-American by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) and has been selected the Landmark Conference Senior Scholar-Athlete for the sport of men’s tennis.  In addition, he is a two-time Landmark all-Academic and three-time Landmark Academic Honor Roll recipient.

On the court, he was named first-team all-Landmark Conference for his play in both singles and doubles in each of the past three seasons.  He finished his career with a record of 38-19 (.667) in singles and 42-18 (.700).

The University of Scranton’s 16 NCAA postgraduate scholarship recipients are as follows:

Baseball (1)
Chris Stallone - 1988
Men's Basketball (5)
J.P. Andrejko - 1988
Michael Banas - 1984
Joseph Cantafio - 1974
Matt Cusano - 1993
Dan Polacheck - 1985
Women's Basketball (2)
Una Espenkotter - 1987
Taryn Mellody - 2007
Men's Cross-Country (2)
Joseph Fent - 2001
John Mercuri - 2007
Men's Golf (1)
Will Carey - 1988
Women's Lacrosse (1)
Bridget Lee - 2003
Women's Soccer (2)
Nicole Bayman - 2001
Lori Snyder - 1987
Men's Tennis (2)
Carl Caceres - 2011
Tim McGurrin - 2013