Kopecki 'Three-Peats' As Landmark Player of the Year; King Also Honored

Friday, February 25, 2010

Megan Kopecki (Millington, N.J./Watchung Hills Regional), a senior guard on The University of Scranton women's basketball team, is now 4-for-4 when it comes to receiving special awards from the Landmark Conference.

Today, Kopecki was named the conference's player of the year for the third straight season, an award she'll share with Juniata College senior forward Jen Hnatuck and senior guard/forward Amy Heffner of Moravian College. In 2008, Kopecki was named the conference's rookie of the year. Her teammate, senior guard Jennifer King (Taylor, Pa./Riverside), landed a spot on the second team.

Kopecki now joins Jennifer Nish (1993-1997) as the only players in Lady Royals' history to win three consecutive conference player of the year/most valuable player awards.  Nish was a three-time Freedom League most valuable player (1995, 1996, 1997) and the conference's rookie of the year (1994) in Scranton's previous affiliation with the Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Corporation.

Kopecki, now a four-time first-team all-Landmark Conference selection, continues to lead the Lady Royals in a number of statistical categories.  She tops Scranton in scoring (14.0), rebounding (6.2), assists (4.3), steals (3.7), and free throw shooting percentage (.806). 

Career-wise, she continues to etch her name among the Lady Royal all-time leaders.  She is first in free throws made (363), is tied for first in steals (329), fifth in scoring (1,607 points) and free throw percentage (.781), tied for seventh in 3-point field goals made (94), and eighth in assists (384), and 3-point field goal percentage (.343) in Scranton history.

King is honored for the first time in her career.  She's averaging a career-best 10.8 points, 3.3 rebounds, 1.4 assists and 0.9 blocks per game, and currently leads Scranton in 3-point field goals made (55) and attempted (138), 3-point field goal percentage (.399), and field goal percentage (.444).  King is also second in 3-point field goal percentage (.387), third in 3-point field goals made (156) and fourth in 3-point field goals attempted (403) in Lady Royals' history.

The Lady Royals (19-6) will take on top-seeded Juniata College (20-6) in the Landmark Conference championship game this Saturday, February 26, at the Kennedy Sports & Recreation Center in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, beginning at 2:00 p.m.  The game will be carried live by WUSR, 99.5 FM, and over the Internet at www.wusrfm.com, with veteran announcer Dean Corwin calling all the action.

The Landmark Conference award recipients for the 2010-2011 season are as follows:

1st Team Name Institution Yr. Hometown/High School
Guard Erika Barron Susquehanna Sr. Tamaqua, Pa./Tamaqua Area
Guard Amy Heffner Moravian Sr. Schnecksville, Pa./Parkland
Forward Jen Hnatuck Juniata Sr. Mechanicsburg, Pa./Trinity
Guard Megan Kopecki Scranton Sr. Millington, N.J./Watchung Hills Regional
Forward Emily Smith Moravian Sr. East Stroudsburg, Pa./East Stroudsburg South
Guard Jill Woerner Catholic So. Providence, R.I./St. Mary's Bayview
2nd Team Name Institution Yr. Hometown/High School
Guard Ashton Bankos Juniata Jr. York, Pa./York Catholic
Guard Danielle Barber Drew Jr. Cape May Courthouse, N.J./Middle Township
Guard Rebecca Grimes USMMA Sr. Fairfax, Va./Paul VI Catholic
Guard Jennifer King Scranton Sr. Taylor, Pa./Riverside
Forward Kate McDonald Juniata Fr. Pennsylvania Furnance, Pa./State College Area
Forward Gina Palazzi Susquehanna So. Newfoundland, Pa./Wallenpaupack

Tri-Players of the Year: Megan Kopecki, Scranton; Jen Hnatuck, Juniata; Amy Heffner, Moravian
Defensive Player of the Year: Alexandra Blair, Moravian
Rookie of the Year: Kate McDonald, Juniata
Coaching Staff of the Year (Head Coach): Juniata College (Danny Young-Uhrich)