University of Scranton NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

The NCAA created its Postgraduate Scholarship program in 1964 to encourage postgraduate education by rewarding the NCAA’s most accomplished student-athletes. In those 55 years, 17 student-athletes from The University of Scranton have received a prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, including the most recent recipients in 2019 – Erica Licari (Women's Soccer).

NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships are awarded based on athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership. The program aims to reward student-athletes whose dedication and effort are reflective of the characteristics necessary to succeed through postgraduate study in an accredited graduate degree program.

The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually – 87 for men and 87 for women – to student-athletes who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition. The one-time, non-renewable grants of $7,500 each are awarded for fall sports, winter sports and spring sports. For each sports season (fall, winter and spring), there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women.

University of Scranton NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients

Baseball (1)
Chris Stallone - 2011

Men's Basketball (5)
J.P. Andrejko - 1988
Michael Banas - 1984
Joseph Cantafio - 1974
Matt Cusano - 1993
Daniel Polacheck – 1995

Women's Basketball (2)
Una Espenkotter – 1987
Taryn Mellody – 2007

Men's Cross Country (2)
Joseph Fent – 2001
John Mercuri - 2007

Golf (1)
Will Carey – 1988

Women’s Lacrosse (1)
Bridget Lee - 2003

Women's Soccer (3)
Nicole Bayman - 2001
Erica Licari - 2019
Lori Snyder - 1987

Men’s Tennis (2)
Carl Caceres - 2011
Tim McGurrin - 2013