Ed Karpovich
Ed Karpovich
Title: Head Coach
Phone: 570-941-7441
Email: edward.karpovich@scranton.edu
Previous College: Scranton '76

Ed Karpovich has the longest active tenure among all coaches at The University of Scranton. He completed his 37th season with the Royals golf program in the spring of 2019.

During his tenure, the Royals have compiled an overall record of 336-120-2 in dual-match competition. He also led Scranton to a Middle Atlantic Conference team championship in 1988. That team, which featured All-American and MAC individual champion Will Carey III, set aschool record with a 24-0 regular-season mark. Thirty of his players have earned all-conference honors, while two -- Carey and Mike Chomicz -- have competed in the NCAA Division III championships.

Scranton has won at least 10 matches in nine of the last 10 seasons, including six seasons with 12 or more victories highlighted by a 16-0 record in the 2019 season.

In 2013, the Royals had one of the most successful seasons in school history, going 12-0 and winning a trio of invitational titles -- the Utica Invitational, the Susquehanna Invitational and the Glenmaura National Collegiate Invitational. The win at Glenmaura was the team's third straight and came on the second playoff hole in dramatic fashion. The Royals also finished second at the Empire 8 Conference championships, their best finish in their eight seasons in the conference, an accomplishment they would match in 2014. Sophomore Erik Meyer earned first-team all-conference honors by finishing tied for fifth, and junior Charles Hudacek and freshman Eric Montella both earned second-team honors by finishing in a tie for ninth.

The 2011 season was one of Karpovich’s most memorable. The Royals went 10-0 in dual-match competition, won their first-ever Glenmaura National Collegiate Invitational title, and placed fourth at the Empire 8 Conference championships, which was Scranton’s second season as a league member. Sophomore Jamie Bresnahan also became the first Royal golfer to earn all-Empire 8 Conference honors, tying for second place with a 72-hole total of 311.

The 2018 squad posted an 11-1 record in dual matches during the regular season and finished as the Landmark Conference runner-up, nearly overcoming a 13-stroke deficit on the final day to finish just three strokes behind Goucher. Senior Michael Boland was the individual conference champion and was named the Landmark Conference Player of the Year while freshman Thomas McAuliffe earned Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year honors.

Karpovich has also been an ambassador for the sport, joining with former King’s College head coach Tom Davis in 1999 to found the Glenmaura National Collegiate Invitational, an annual event that attracts some of the top Division III talent in the region. Glenmaura National also serves as the Royals’ home course. In addition, he served on the NCAA regional committee in 2011.

Karpovich is a 1976 graduate of the University and a member of its prestigious Wall of Fame.  As a player, he led the Royals to three MAC team titles (1973, 1975, 1976), while capturing MAC individual championships in 1974 and 1976.  He also competed in the 1974 and 1976 NCAA championships, finishing tied for 150th in 1974 and tied for 42nd in 1976.  He currently serves as treasurer of Lackawanna County.

Awards & Honors

#Middle Atlantic Conference Team Championships (1)

#Middle Atlantic/*Freedom Conference Top-5 Finishes (10)
1984 (2nd), 1985 (2nd), 1986 (2nd), 1988 (1st), 1997 (4th), 1998 (5th), 1999 (3rd), *2005 (2nd, tie), 2006 (3rd), 2007 (2nd)

*Freedom Conference finishes

Editor's Note:  Results from 1990 and 1991 MAC tournaments are unavailable

Empire 8 Conference Championship Top-5 Finishes (7)
2011 (4th), 2012 (4th), 2013 (2nd), 2014 (2nd), 2015 (3rd), 2016 (4th), 2017 (4th)

Landmark Conference Championship Top-5 Finishes (1)
2018 (2nd)

Glenmaura National Collegiate Invitational Champions
2011, 2012, 2013

NCAA Qualifiers
Will Carey (1986, 1987, 1988)
Mike Chomicz (1987)

Landmark Conference Individual Champion (1)
Michael Boland (2018)

Landmark Conference Player of the Year (1)
Michael Boland (2018)

Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year (1)
Thomas McAuliffe (2018)

All-Landmark Conference Selections (3)
Michael Boland (2018, 1st team)
Thomas McAuliffe (2018, 1st team)
Brett Lubba (2018, 2nd team)

All-Empire 8 Conference Selections (8)
Jamie Bresnahan (2011, 1st team)
Ryan Brown (2014, 2nd team; 2015, 2nd team)
Kyle Hayes (2017, 2nd team)
Charles Hudacek (2013, 2nd team)
Tyler Huggins (2017, 2nd team)
Erik Meyer (2013, 1st team; 2014, 1st team; 2015, 2nd team)
Eric Montella (2013, 2nd team; 2014, 1st team; 2016, 2nd team)
Chris Schank (2012, 1st team)

#Middle Atlantic/*Freedom Conference Individual Champions (2)
Will Carey (1988), *J.T. Yarem (2005)

#All-Middle Atlantic/*Freedom Conference Selections (19)
Lee Alvarez (2002)
Mike Brozetti (1995)
Will Carey (1985, 1986, 1988)
Mike Chomicz (1987)
Antero Cortes (*2007)
Bruce DeSarro (1994)
Jim Ferguson (1999)
Brian Fries (2005)
Tom Guzek (1988, 1989)
Keith Hesslin (1996)
Sandy LaFoca (1986)
Greg Maurer (1997)
Kevin Mullen (1997, 1998)
Doug Nardella (1995)
Tom Noonan (*2006)
Dennis Rakaustas (1984)
Jeff Slivinski (*2006,*2007)
Robert Stott (2001)
J.T. Yarem (2003, *2005)

Wall of Fame Inductees (1)
Will Carey

#The University of Scranton is no longer affiliated with the Middle Atlantic States Collegiate Athletic Corporation, more commonly known as the Middle Atlantic Conference.