Drury, Ebert, Carey, Sawyer Earn Landmark Conference Honors

Drury, Ebert, Carey, Sawyer Earn Landmark Conference Honors



Four University of Scranton men's lacrosse players have earned all-Landmark Conference honors, led by senior defenseman Sean Ebert (Woolwich Township, N.J./St. Joseph's Prep) and junior midfielder Adam Drury (Chatham, N.J./Chatham), who earned first-team honors.

Senior midfielder Patrick Sawyer (Doylestown, Pa./Germantown Academy) and junior midfielder Conor Carey (Long Beach, N.Y./Chaminade) also earned second-team honors. The all-Landmark Conference teams were released Tuesday afternoon by the conference office.

Drury earns first-team honors as a faceoff specialist for the second straight season. He currently leads the Landmark Conference in faceoffs won (161) and faceoff percentage (.719). He's also second in ground balls with 59 and also has one assist and has taken six shots this season.

Ebert, who earns all-conference honors for the first time, has been the Royals' top defenseman all season, helping the team hold opponents to 7.79 goals per game, fourth best in the conference and just 0.19 goals per game from the best mark in the conference. He has started all 14 games, often defending the opponents' top offensive threat, while collecting 21 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers.

Carey earns all-conference honors for the first time after developing into a standout player on both ends of the field. He is seventh in the Landmark Conference with 48 ground balls and is second on the team with 25 points on 16 goals and nine assists. He has taken 47 shots, 30 on goal, and caused 13 turnovers this season.

Sawyer, who was honored as a long-stick midfielder, has teamed with Ebert to provide a strong defensive duo while helping the Royals put together a .772 clear percentage. His 27 ground balls are fourth on the team and he also has 11 caused turnovers to go along with one goal on five shots, three of which have been on goal.

The Royals will begin their postseason quest as the fourth seed on Wednesday when they visit top-seeded Elizabethtown for a Landmark Conference semifinal at 7 p.m.

To see the full list of Landmark Conference men's lacrosse honors, visit http://www.landmarkconference.org.