Emily Sheehan Named Landmark Conference Athlete of the Week

Senior Emily Sheehan was named Landmark Conference Athlete of the Week on Monday afternoon. © Photo by Timothy R. Dougherty / doubleeaglephotography.com
Senior Emily Sheehan was named Landmark Conference Athlete of the Week on Monday afternoon. © Photo by Timothy R. Dougherty / doubleeaglephotography.com
Emily Sheehan 

 

Senior guard Emily Sheehan (Dunmore, Pa./Dunmore) of The University of Scranton women's basketball team was named Landmark Conference Athlete of the Week as announced by the conference office on Monday afternoon.

Sheehan is the first Lady Royals player to be named Athlete of the Week this season and the first since senior Makenzie Mason (Doylestown, Pa./Central Bucks West) earned the honor on Feb. 18, 2019.

The Dunmore, Pa., native was named MVP of the Hilton Scranton Poinsettia Classic after averaging 14.5 points per game in two tournament games as Scranton toppled Elmira (95-43) and Misericordia (75-57). Sheehan registered a game-high 18 points and four assists in the win over Elmira and tallied 11 points with a career-high five steals in the victory over Misericordia. She closed the week with six points, three rebounds and two assists in 17 minutes of action during a 100-44 win over Rosemont on Saturday.

On the season, Sheehan is averaging 10.8 points per game to go along with 3.1 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.2 steals while shooting 42.3% from three-point range.

The No. 2 Lady Royals will compete in the D3hoops.com in Las Vegas, Nev. later this week and will battle No. 9/13 George Fox on Saturday, Dec. 28 at 7 p.m. eastern and 4 p.m. pacific. Scranton is also slated to play St. Vincent on Monday, Dec. 30 at 1 p.m. eastern and 10 a.m. pacific.

--LADY ROYALS--